Cross Sound Ferry

The gray and charcoal layers, covering the morning sky and the thick, dark green cover of conifer in southeastern Connecticut, were producing showers of rain and thunder. The fruits of the condensate embrace the earth, like the smoke tendrils created by the multitude of fireplaces, spiraling upwards.

New London, located on the River Thames and proudly displaying its heritage with several preserved, historic buildings, was founded in 1646 by John Winthrop, Jr., developed into an important port. Thanks to a fleet of 30 ships and approximately 900 employees by 1834, it became the third largest whaling port after New Bedford and Nantuckett, and today is a small transport hub: buses take passengers in front of the train station, gently bend the track, parallel water and trains. Amtrak and Metro North, while the port serves as the water inlet of Cross Cross Ferry to Block Island and Long Island, the huge, steel ramps of their boats that released cars and trucks near the tens every hour. Although running until 2:00 pm towards Orient Point just away from the dock on that manual road, vehicles reserved for departure at 3:00 have already taken their positions on numerous boarding tracks.

A privately owned sibling of Adam and Jessica Wronowski, headquartered in London itself, Cross Sound Ferry was founded to circumvent the geographical challenges posed by Long Island and Connecticut. Separated from the East River and the Sound of Long Island, Long Island extends more than 110 miles from New York, its northern coast roughly parallel to the southern coast of Connecticut, but the two land areas are only connected by the Whitestone and Throgs Neck bridges. Depending on the person's proximity, he could theoretically drive between 100 and 200 miles on the two eastern western arteries – Long Island Highway and Interstate 95 – to reach his destination.

To remedy these shortcomings, Cross Sound Ferry launched a regular passenger and vehicle transport service between Long Island East End in Orient Point and New London, Connecticut, in 1975 for the first time forging a vitally needed connection.

Numerous factors, including the rise of Long Island's population, the rise of East End's winemaking tourism, the establishment of Foxwoods Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos, Connecticut, casinos and frequent traffic choke, have resulted in dramatic growth, with as many as 23 takeaways daily in each direction during the peak season and more than one million passengers carried annually.

It manages a diverse fleet of eight ships.

The Caribbean, with a total length of 128 feet and powered by 1,440 hp, was built by Blount Marine in 1972 in Warren, Rhode Island, for the Caribbean Archipelago and the West Indies, but was purchased five years later by Cross Sound. passengers and 22 vehicles, was equipped in 1995 with a new pilot house and loading ramp.

The North Star, built in 1968 in Morgan City, Louisiana, which serves as a supply ship, was purchased in 1984 and remodeled for immediate use at the Eastern Naval Shipyard in Panama City, Florida. Powered by a 1800hp engine, the 168-foot-long boat can accommodate 300 passengers and 35 vehicles.

The 260-foot-long New London, resembling a North Star with a rear, elongated, exposed car deck, was built in 1979 by Thames Shipyard and Repair Center in New London, but was rebuilt in 1992 and two years later by a Cummins KTA38-M2 diesel engine from 2400 hp, which offers speeds of up to 15 knots. It is one of only three vessels in the fleet. If it receives the same number of passengers as the North Star, it offers ample deck space for nearly twice the number of cars, or 60.

8-passenger Susan Anne with 840 passengers, 80 vehicles, built in 1964, began her life as Prince Nova, operating a shuttle service between Caribou, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. Perfectly modified by Thames Shipyard and Repairs after being acquired by Cross Sound in 1998, it has been given a new passenger cabin, aircraft and seat-style seats, hydraulic lift decks, refurbished engine rooms, new electrical equipment and an improved propulsion system, Now powered by a 4,600-hp GM turbo-diesel engine, the round-beam rotary ferry also achieves a speed of 15 knots.

Built in 1983 and acquired 20 years later, Mary Ellen is 260 feet long and carries 800 passengers and 85 vehicles. It is powered by a 3,100-hp engine, the third to deliver a cruise speed of 15 knots.

Cape Henlopen, the largest in size, at 327 feet, and the oldest ship in the fleet, was built in 1941 as a tanker ship in World War II in Jeffersonville, Indiana, then designated USS LST 510 and involved in the Two-Day Landing Invasion to the Omaha beach in Normandy for which she was awarded a battle star. Converted to civilian use as a passenger car ferry in 1966, it served Lewes, Delaware, to Cape May, New Jersey, before being acquired 17 years later by Cross Sound. Modernly equipped with the 3,000-hp EMD 12-645 diesel engine in 1995, the ship, in its 55-foot bundle, carries 900 passengers and 90 cars, achieving a speed of 12.5 knots.

Designed by Australia's InCat and designed by Nichols Brothers Shipyard in Seattle, Washington, 1989, Sea Jet I is the fastest and only clean passenger vessel in the fleet. The 122-foot-long, 5,000-horsepower catamaran served three routes prior to its 1995 acquisition: Boston-Nantucket, inter-Hawaiian island traffic, and San Diego-Catalina Island. Its 400 passengers, located in two-deck airplane seats, exceed the sound in 40 minutes at speeds of 30 knots.

The highest-capacity ferry, specifically designed for the Cross Sound system, is m / v John H, scheduled to operate at 3:00 am departing Orient Point. Built in 1989 in the Eastern Naval Shipping Company in the city of Panama, the ship, 240 feet long, 60 feet long and ten feet long, is the largest classified in the U.S. Coast Guard sub-chapter. T regulations, certified for work on lakes, in bays and on sounds.

Delivered on June 22, 1989, the 98-ton ferry, built of steel, contains double deck levels for 120 vehicles; forward bar and lounge; middle cabin with Cross Sound Deli space; aft cabin and game room; and an upper deck with outdoor seats for a total of 1000 passengers. Flat-screen TVs are all over the place.

Recently equipped with clean fuel, lower nitrous oxide, a 3,000hp diesel, it achieves a cruise speed of 13 knots. His call sign is WAC 6768.

Swallowing a multitude of flat-bed cars and trucks that stood on boarding routes through their stern entry and swallowing them into their cavernous, main deck berth, m / v John H pulled up his hydraulically actuated ramp and disappeared from Connecticut, almost imperceptibly. moving away from the dock with low vibrating thunder from the engine.

Passing through the dark blue surface of the River Thames, it departed from the port of New London, east coast, the most accessible, deep-sea port due to its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, and passed through the general dynamics section of the east side shipyard at Groton. It is one of only two U.S. sites to build and maintain nuclear submarines.

Sailing for two miles, the ship passed a rocky point on the west side of the River Thames that marked its entrance and protected it by the light of New London Harbor. As a result of the increasing traffic by sea, the lighthouse, in its original form, was built in 1761 on a 64-foot stone tower on top of a wooden lantern, which replaced the temporary lighthouse, in the mid-1700s.

Secondarily replaced in 1801 by an 89-foot stone tower and cast iron lantern after a large crack weakened the structure two years earlier, the octagonal brownstone lighthouse, the fourth in North America and the first on Long Island Sound, is classified as a Connecticut & # 39 ; the oldest is also one of the first to have flashing light. The keeper's house, added in 1863, was expanded at the turn of the century.

With a fixed white and red sector warning light, New London Harbor Light remains an active means of navigation, alerting ships to the dangerous Sarah Ledge.

As if to serve as the GPS of the first generation point, the lighthouse became the first of many to negotiate a southeastern ferry across Long Island Sound, into which it is currently entered. A shiny new red brick New London light, with a loft roof and granite details, was slowly moving out of the harbor, marking the entrance to the harbor.

Fueled by traffic generated by the Industrial Revolution, considered inadequate by the light of the Port of New London, due to the prevalence of invisible, relaxed outcrops and shoals, dictated by coastal homeowners in Connecticut who wanted to maintain the area with elegant uniformity with their French Second Empire style, 1901 was built by Hamilton R. Douglas Company in New London. It was one of the last lighthouses built in New England.

The cradle was towed to the site and filled with concrete and crack before it sank into 28 feet of water, with a 50-square-foot concrete dock rising 18 feet above the tide. The three levels of windows represented an equal number of floors. From the roof of the attic rose a lantern-shaped left-hand blower, which originally had Fresnel lenses in four rows and an incandescent light bulb. The fog signal was added in 1911. Its light consisted of 30-second interlaced red and triple-white flashes. In 1987, it became the last Long Island Sound lighthouse to be automated.

Maintaining 13 knots, m / v John H passed Fisher Island.

The Gothic Revival-style Race Rock Lighthouse, located on a circular base, soon crossed to the left. Located at the western end of the island, the building, which looked like a mini-castle, marked a particularly unreliable area whose small rocks, penetrating 70 meters of water, were the cause of numerous shipwrecks and collisions. It was first lit on January 1, 1879.

Swallowing the almost ruthless void created by the dirty white clouds above and the surreal mirrors of the splendor of Long Island Sound somewhere between New London and Orient Point, m / v John H maintained barely detectable 13 knots, his movement only verifiably piercing him with furious alertness. But the thin line of the pen marked its origin and destination, seemingly equalized between its stern and bow. The strong wind, trying to suppress the soup's moisture and sulfur heat, only marginally won. Long Island Sound itself, bounded by Westchester County in New York and the Bronx to the west and the Orient Point and Plum Islands, seagulls and ponds to the east, is 90 miles long, three to 20 miles wide, resulting in a 1,180- half-enclosed square mile area between the East River and the sound of Block Island. It was part of the Atlantic International Waterway.

Its basin, formed by pre-glacial flow, descends as a result of two glacier advances, increasing water depth by more than 100 feet and turning it from a low-water freshwater lake into a salty, tidal ocean.

The mouth of the Connecticut River, located near Old Saybrook, flows into the sound, while much of its drainage, along with the Housatonic and Thames rivers, quickly flows into the open east end through a drainage stream nearly 13 times its area.

Its waters are rich in blue fish, lobster, crustaceans, shellfish and oysters, while its basin supports about eight million people.

At John H's front lounge, passengers sipped their liquor while others bought a snack or late lunch from Cross Sound Deli in the mid-cabin. Television viewing and reading were prevalent in the aft, with some covering the rays and winds on the open deck above.

The Seagull Islands, located seven kilometers northeast of Orient and midway between Plum and Fisher Islands, kept moving away from the port side.

Once the site of a military fort, the Great Seagull set up a wildlife research station after it was established in 1948 by the American Museum of Natural History for the purpose of studying migratory grasslands.

Purchased by Samuel Wyllys in 1659, the Little Seagull, passing through several owners, eventually fell into government hands with its $ 1803, $ 800 acquisition to build a lighthouse at the optimum, single action site at high tide. Apart from some of the existing rocks that are suitable for foundations, all other necessary building materials had to be transported to the island by sea.

The 59-foot tower, which consisted of smoothly driven loose stone set in courses and inside with a wooden, spiral staircase, a staircase ending in a lantern room, began operations in 1805, and a separate wooden guard, one and a half floors 39 ; the rooms contained two rooms on the main and one on the upper level. A circular stone wall 100 feet in diameter, 11 feet high, intended to protect against storms, was subsequently added during the summer of 1817.

The larger 81-foot lighthouse, built in 1867 on a five-foot brick wall, replaced the earlier structure, and three years later was attached to a tree and granite house. The second-order Fesnel lens was first used in December 1869.

Completing 177 years of visitation, the station succumbed to automation in 1978.

Turning to the left turning into the now deep blue water that reflected the sky blue sky, m / v John H entered the "race" so determined by the often prevailing five-node water current combined with strong winds and heavy coastal seas producing dangerous high tides. Smoking white hats with his bow, he peered along his longitudinal axis.

Plum Island, the largest of the three atolls extending northeast toward the Long Island Sound, as well as the Little Seagull, was purchased by Samuel Wyllys in 1659 from Wyandanch, Montauk sachem. In 1775, the site of an amphibious landing of continental troops was led by General David Wooster to prevent potential livestock invasions by the British, while a coastal artillery base was built more than a century later, in 1899, during the Spanish-American War. Always taking on a protective role, he guarded Long Island Sound and the Port of New York during the two world wars, and during the summit they were occupied by about 1,000 soldiers, some of them smaller batteries and the bricks in which they were housed. Using some old officers & # 39; and livestock facilities by 1984, the U.S. Department of Agriculture established the lab.

A 40-foot-tall rough stone tower, topped with ten spotlights, formed the island's first lighthouse in 1827, a year after Richard Jerome sold three of his 840 acres to the U.S. government. Replaced in 1869 by a tall, double floor, granite and almost church building in 1869, it marked the western point with traditionally treacherous waters.

Broadcasting a barely audible mound, m / v John H cruised past Plum Gut Harbor, moving in the midst of the black and white, rocky outcropping of the Orient Point Lighthouse, located just to the point at which it was named, indicating an impending arrival.

Built between 1898 and 1899 to mark the end of Oyster Point Reef and guide ships through the perilous currents of Plum Gut, the lighthouse, which consisted of curved cast iron plates interconnected in the form of a severed cone, resting on a circular, 21 foot diameter concrete filled with brick and brick exterior. The foundation itself used part of the rocky Oyster as its foundation. The 64-foot-tall structure, often referred to as the "coffee pot" because of its appearance, listed five degrees south-east. It was automated in 1966.

Reducing the speed and appropriate size of the turquoise enturbulence generated by the wake, the ferry set off Long Island Sound, passing through Gardiner Bay before launching straight, finally approaching the turn toward the top of North Fork, departing, Connecticut Mary Ellen borders two gold and black piles in a circle , bypassing John H's m / v arch in the left arch as she passed through the Orient Point Lighthouse. Prior to landing, there was another "lighthouse" of the lighthouse, the Orient Long Beach Bar Light, which marked the entrance to the Orient port.

Leaning on a platform with screw piles, which itself penetrated the sand ten feet at the bottom of the bay, the 60-foot-tall structure was covered by a fifth row lens with a fixed red light, while the tree was framed, double-guarded & # 39; the house was covered with an attic roof.

During the winter, spindle legs were often hooked into two feet of ice. So, for example, in 1824 he demolished the dock, and in 1881 he broke three pillars and almost all of his supports.

The sand lane, further away from the lighthouse, eventually made it superfluous, and by 1963 it was completely destroyed by padding.

By 1990, a three-part, working replica of the original was constructed, dubbed the "insect light" because it resembles a bug walking on water, it was made and dug up to where it was mounted with a crane. Three years later, it was controlled by the US Coast Guard, and again declared official navigational aid.

Moving hard through the harbor, m / v John H stopped moving, opening his forward, mouth-loading boarding ramp and landing again after landing through the 16.5-mile Long Island sound, using his multiple beacons, disrupting the vehicle parade from they hold their cavernous hold to Orient Point, the easternmost hamlet in the town of Southold, and the gate to the vineyards, farms and nautical village of Greenport, North Fork.